Category: Clachnacuddin

Lossiemouth 1-1 Clachnacuddin – SHFL – 17th August 2013

Matty Davidson struck in first half injury time to give Lossiemouth the lead, only for Clach to rally and level the score with time to spare.

Wind and occasional rain met the sides as they took to the field, and Lossie started well, keeping Clach pinned back in their own own half, but without creating much in the way of chances.

Clach were struggling to put a team performance together and while the Lilywhites couldn’t be faulted for individual effort, they just couldn’t make it work as a team. Gordon Morrison and Blair Lawrie were visibly frustrated as passes went astray and attempts at goal went well wide of target.

The Coasters took the lead as the half drew to a close. A Callum Dunbar pass sent Matty DAVIDSON clean through on goal, and Davidson stroked the ball below Campbell to score his sides first home goal of the season.

Matty Davidson scores to give Lossie the lead
Matty Davidson scores to give Lossie the lead

Half time – Lossiemouth 1-0 Clachnacuddin

Clach’s disjointed performance continued into the second half, and Lossie were unlucky not to double their lead just before the hour when Callum Dunbar swept a free kick towards goal only to see it come back off the upright.

Tony Ross and Blair Lawrie
Tony Ross and Blair Lawrie

Clach levelled with 25 minutes to go, with the lead up to the goal beginning not far from the Invernesians own goal. A Lossie attack broke down and Clach thundered back upfield, the ball eventually finding its way to Kyle WHYTE. The forward cut inside, paused, and sent a shot beyond Watson just inside the post.The visitors had the wind in their sails following their equaliser and pressed for a second goal and all three points but couldn’t convert their late pressure and numerous corners into a winner.

Both sides move onto one point for the season, with Lossie a place above Clach courtesy of a slightly better goal difference.

Full time – Lossiemouth 1-1 Clachnacuddin

Lossiemouth – Errol Watson, Anthony Ross, Darren Bailey, Chris Ross, Jamie McKinnon, Kevin Flett, Scott Miller, Greig Watson, Liam Archibald, Callum Dunbar, Matty Davidson (Kevin Grant, 75); Unused subs – Jordan Main, Scott Gordon, Gary McDonald, Kyle Robertson

Clachnacuddin – John Campbell, Andrew Skinner, Michael Finnis, Martin Laing, Chris Lawrie, Brian Macleod, Neil MacDonald, Alistair Macleod, Gordon Morrison, Kyle Whyte, Blair Lawrie; Unused subs – Ryan MacDonald, Scott Morrison, John Mackay, Matthew Grant, Jamie Fraser